Double Mastectomy Surgery

I arrived at the hospital at 5:30AM Tuesday morning on April 19,2016, to undergo a double mastectomy. Upon arriving, I checked in at the surgical waiting room, and was immediately called, where I was then taken upstairs to Pre-OP. Doug and my mom were able to come in with me. I had my vitals taken, and met the Anastasia team. They recommended I get a nerve block done, which would relieve the pain once I woke up. So I agreed. Doug and my mom were asked to step out of the room. The only thing I remember was talking to a lady holding my hand, then out of know where I was so sleepy, and numb. I don’t even remember saying bye to my mom or Doug.

When I was wheeled in the operating room, I remember telling someone how scared I was, and he then put a mask on my face, and told me to breathe a few times. Before I could even think, I must of fallen in the deep sleep. 4 hours later, I woke up in recovery.

I remember waking up, and all I wanted was to see my family. I was in a lot of pain. My mouth was so dry, so the nurse gave me a few ice chips, then I started puking. The nurse gave me Norco for the pain, but that did not seem to help. On a scale of 1-10, my pain was a 10. I couldn’t move my arms. By the time I got moved to my bedroom, I was in recovery for over 3 1/2 hours.

As soon as I saw my family, I was really emotional. I think everyone cried. I was just really happy to see everyone. Once I was in my room, I kept vomiting, which the nurse said it was because of the Anastasia meds. I had lots of visitors which made me feel so happy!

That night I had a really hard time. I couldn’t sleep, I kept puking, and the pain seemed to get worse. I was able to have Norco and morphine every 3 hours. The first night Doug had to help me get up, and use the restroom.

The next day, I felt so much better. Doug and I went on a few walks, and my surgeon came to visit. She said I was free to go! She also said the surgery went great, and we should find out the results by next week. I will keep you all updated!

Leave a comment