Radiation 28-34, Remission

It felt like a life time to reach this week, but it’s finally here, and I couldn’t be anymore excited! This week was exhausting and so emotional! The past week I have been doing my booster rounds which focus on the scar area. My armpit and chest are so burnt. I was actually a little worried to do treatment this week because my skin is so raw and irritated.

This morning I went to Burr Ridge to have my MRI, to see if the blood clot is gone, or smaller so I can get my port removed. I still don’t know the results yet, I tried calling this afternoon but they said results may take up to 72 hours. So crossing my fingers I get positive results.

Today was my last cancer treatment ever!! I got to the Proton Center at 1PM for my last radiation, which took about 20 minutes, after I was supposed to meet the nurses for my discharge but instead I took part in the graduation ceremony! Since I have started radiation, every Wednesday, they have graduation for people who complete radiation, I always wanted to do it, I just wasn’t sure if I would have time due to my treatment hour. But the nurses made it work, and it was so worth it! I graduated with 4 others by my side, and hearing there stories made me so emotional. I feel like anyone who has cancer, I just have this instant connection with, you don’t have to really explain to them, they just know  what you’ve been through. The receptionist gave a speech about bravery, and presented us with a coin and diploma! That feeling was the best feeling, I can’t really put into words! They gave us a chance to speak, and of course I was a mess! I’m never good at those! After that I met with the nurse who went over my discharge. I still have to use my lotion everyday for a while. She said my skin will remain burnt for a while. I then met with Dr. Welsh, he said everything was going great. He said this week my skin may get worse, but he said it usually takes a week for proton therapy to get out of my system. He was really happy that I was done= ] I have to meet with him in 4 weeks for a skin follow up.

Besides waiting for the results from the MRI, I still have to get the port removed, which is scheduled August 4th. Then the rest should be follow up appointments (usually every 8 weeks). I will still go in monthly for my injections, and take my pill every day for the next 10 years! My reconstruction probably won’t be until December or January. I am hoping to stay in remission forever. Thank you all for your support!

Leave a comment