Follow up setback

I had my appointment today with my chemo oncologist Dr.Lo who I haven’t seen since April! I was so excited to see her! All the nurses loved my new look, and Dr.Lo was impressed with my weight loss and hair growth! So that was a good feeling. Other than that I was a little disappointed in my appointment.

IMG_1810

Anyone who knows me, knows I always have a plan for the future, and I like when things are set and stone. But again, when you have cancer nothing ever goes by plan, and things change all the time, it gets frustrating. I was told when I first was diagnosed that I probably wouldn’t be able to have children, but after my surgery, and chemo my period came back, and now there was some hope. Then I was told  if I considered to have children we have to wait until I’m 30 years old since I am on 2 medicines that make me go into menopause due to my estrogen levels. So after hearing that previously I was hopeful, now today I was told it would be best if I am on these medicines for 10 years. That will make me 35 years old!! Dr.Lo said I should consider to remove my overies. This just made my heart sink. I know she wants what is best for me, but ultimately it will be my decision, and it’s something I really have to consider. I am lucky enough to already have Reichen, so I will leave the rest up to God.

IMG_1762

Then as you all know since February, Ive had a blood clot in my right atrium heart chamber. I have been taking my shots for thinning my blood daily, and Dr. Lo told me once my port is removed, I will be able to stop taking the shots. Well I had to meet with Dr.Vaince (breast surgeon) to discuss the removal, and now I am freaked out! Dr. Vaince said due to where the blood clot is located there are risks that can happen with removing my port. The worst case would be the blood clot travels to my lung and can lead to sudden death. Hearing that just made me never want to have it removed. BUT she has to tell me the worst possible, so hopefully the procedure goes smooth. It will be scheduled for August 4th. Before I have the procedure I am going to have a Heart MRI and additional blood work to determine if it is safe at this time to have it removed. So I’m lucky I am in amazing hands.

IMG_9137.jpg
This is a port (where they give me chemo through)

Last thing, I asked Dr. Vaince about meeting the plastic surgeon again, and she said I probably won’t see him until October, and surgery probably won’t be until December/January for reconstruction. She said she wants my skin to heal completely from radiation. I was a little disappointed because I thought it would be way sooner, but this gives me more time to get my life back on track, and focus on my family and future!

Even though today didn’t go as I thought it would, thinking about how far I’ve come makes me so thankful. This is the happiest I’ve been in a long time, and I know it will only get better. Sometimes it takes some really really bad things to happen  to realize how precious life is. I’ve always believed in God but now my faith is so much stronger. For therapy, I have been painting a lot, and I love to do the creative drawings to calm my nerves, so I bought this Creative Bible and I’m obsessed. It’s beautiful and my goal is to read the entire Bible.

 

I’ll update you all by Friday with my Radiation treatment-I’m so close to the finish line!!!

 

Leave a comment