Follow Up with Surgeon

Today I had my follow up appointment with Dr.Vaince (my breast surgeon) at the Burr Ridge location. It has been 6 days since my double mastectomy. For the most part, when I take my pain meds, I feel pretty great. I still empty out my drains 3 times a day, and record how much fluid is coming out.

I could not sleep last night, maybe because I was so anxious for today. My appointment was at 9:30AM. I always love going to the Burr Ridge location because it’s such a nice area, and I LOVE my nurse MaryAnn, and my surgeon Dr.Vaince. They both make me feel like I’m more than just a patient. When I got there, my nurse MaryAnn greeted me with a hug, and told me how great I looked. When I changed into my gown, MaryAnn unwrapped my bandage. This was the first time seeing what the breast area looked like. It was very overwhelming. Although, it looked better than I imagined, I was so sick to my stomach, I almost passed out. My Doctor brought me orange juice, life saver gummies, and an ice pack. I had to lie down for a little bit. Once I was able to take it all in, I got dressed and was able  to sit down to talk.

Dr. Vaince explained what took place during my surgery. She explained to me that the tumor, measuring 6 centimeters was removed, along with 9 lymph nodes. She explained 5 out of the 9 lymph nodes were cancerous. She said we will do additional testings to make sure all cancer was removed. She seemed very happy with how surgery went. Also, she said  I am healing very well, and she is surprised with how much I am able to do by myself.

On Friday, I will have to go to Loyola in Maywood, and meet with the radiation team, where I will then find out how much radiation I will have to do. Also, I will see Dr. Vaince again, and she may remove my drains depending on how the recordings go. I have to have under 30CC for 3 consecutive days before drains can be taken out. I also will meet with a physical therapist for my arm. My right arm has signs of lymphoma. I will keep everyone posted on Friday’s appointment.

13043458_10154918351454968_1397365233279256353_n

“I love the person I’ve become, because I Fought to become Her”

Leave a comment